Paul

My Son, Quinn

• Tech Support
  • 6,938 posts
  • 816 topics
  • Local time: 08:04 AM
  • Locationបាត់ដំបង

Posted 17 April 2017 - 02:24 AM

My father was a general contractor before he retired. But, for years during my life, and many years before, he was a masoonry contractor. As a boy, I learned - if I recall correctly, that mortar mix was 1 sack of mix, 15 shovels of sand, and about 5 gallons of water, in the mixing machine. I don't recall what it was for concrete, as that was usually delivered by truck, to his work sites. So, I am glad I finally - at the age of 50, am learning about the other mix he used on many of the job sites I worked as a boy.

Anyway, while doing some research for my projected footings, I started learning a few things about concrete that I wanted to share with those of you who may not know.

Concrete strength is rated in grades. C15, C25 and C30, for examples. The grade of the concrete is the concrete compression resistance after it has cured for a bit under a month. 28 days, actually. But, who is counting? 

The table below will show the parts of cement, sand, and gravel to add, to make the various mixes above, and to achieve the strengths necessary for a given project.

Cement  :  Sand  :  Gravel  :  Grade
     1        :     2      :      3        :   C30 (very strong)
     1        :     2      :      4        :   C25 (strong)
     1        :     2      :      5        :   C15 (general purpose concrete)

For the money, I would just as soon use C30 for everything, than a lower strength mix. But, that's just me. I would rather make sure my concrete pour is going to be stronger than I need it, than possibly weaker. Pretty difficult to go back and pour it over, once the construction job has been completed.